Firsts

Heart PadThis is my first blog. My first blog post. The hardest part is getting started. I decided to just do it! I will learn along the way, and have tons of fun doing so.

This past week I held my first needle felting workshop. The local FB group – The Real HouseMoms of Hyde Park – started an event called Women Exchange Skills & Training for the moms to learn something new, and spend time talking about something other than their children.

FullSizeRender (2)

I welcomed this idea with open arms. As a first time mom, I struggle with my identity daily. I love being a mother and wife. Yet I often find myself wanting more out of my friendships.

I volunteered to hold the first workshop. I have been wanting to teach knitting or something fibery over the past few years. I sometimes have fantasies of owning a yarn shop.  This was a great opportunity for me to move out of my comfort zone.

This past Thanksgiving, my husband, Dan, taught his family how to needle felt and we all made Christmas Ornaments. So I had plenty of needles and foam bases already. I had accumulated a large bag of roving over the years.  I just needed cookie cutters to make felted hearts – just in time for Valentines.

Embroidered Hearts

I was worried about the the moms using the sharp felting needles while the children were around.  Just in case no one wanted to try needle felting, I had supplies to create embroidered hearts and heart pom-poms.

FullSizeRender (3)

About six moms joined the workshop. They all embraced the needle felting. It doesn’t take much to understand how needle felting works. Some moms knew what it was, and have been wanting to try. Everyone enjoyed themselves. There were the few cliches “I really enjoy stabbing something.” And thankfully, only one mom poked herself.

Sadly, I was remiss in taking pictures of the workshop (first lesson learned).

About knitTina

I love all things knit and crochet.
This entry was posted in Needle Felting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Firsts

  1. Susie Irzyk says:

    Very nice Tina! I will look forward to seeing your progress. You are so talented. Susie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. milagogo says:

    So awesome! Can’t wait to read more!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

